Notice
Standalone, clear notice: itemised data collected, purpose, and a link to withdraw consent, exercise rights and complain to the Board
A plain-language summary of what the Digital Personal Data Protection Act 2023 and DPDP Rules 2025 require of clinics, and by when — with a source for every point.
Educational information, not legal advice. Last reviewed: .
An IVF clinic that collects patient data is a Data Fiduciary under the DPDP Act.
14 Nov 2025
DPDP Rules notified; Data Protection Board set up.
~Nov 2026 (12 months)
Consent Manager registration opens.
Source: Privacy World — Rules summary (timeline, security, 72 hours) (opens in a new tab)
~May 2027 (18 months)
Main duties apply: notices, consent, security safeguards, breach reporting, rights requests.
Source: Privacy World — Rules summary (timeline, security, 72 hours) (opens in a new tab)
Tell patients what you collect and why, and record their choice.
Standalone, clear notice: itemised data collected, purpose, and a link to withdraw consent, exercise rights and complain to the Board
Free, specific, recorded; can be withdrawn at any time
Verifiable parental consent for under-18s, with exemptions including healthcare
Someone to contact, and answers to requests on time.
Display contact details of a designated officer or Data Protection Officer (Act Sec 8(9))
Respond to access, correction and erasure requests within 90 days
Use vendors that process personal data only under a valid contract (Act Sec 8(2))
Protect the data, keep logs, and act fast when something goes wrong.
Reasonable safeguards: encryption or masking, access control, access logging and monitoring, backups, ways to detect and investigate unauthorised access
Source: Privacy World — Rules summary (timeline, security, 72 hours) (opens in a new tab)
Keep logs for at least one year
Source: Privacy World — Rules summary (timeline, security, 72 hours) (opens in a new tab)
Inform affected people without delay in plain language; report to the Data Protection Board within 72 hours
Source: Privacy World — Rules summary (timeline, security, 72 hours) (opens in a new tab)
ART's 10-year record rule and DPDP's storage limitation must be reconciled — keep ART records 10 years, delete other data when its purpose ends.
Up to ₹250 crore (security failure); up to ₹200 crore (breach not reported, or children's data); up to ₹50 crore (other)
Each answer is the requirement as stated in the guide above.
Standalone, clear notice: itemised data collected, purpose, and a link to withdraw consent, exercise rights and complain to the Board.
Free, specific, recorded; can be withdrawn at any time.
Use vendors that process personal data only under a valid contract (Act Sec 8(2)).
Display contact details of a designated officer or Data Protection Officer (Act Sec 8(9)).
Respond to access, correction and erasure requests within 90 days.
Reasonable safeguards: encryption or masking, access control, access logging and monitoring, backups, ways to detect and investigate unauthorised access.
Keep logs for at least one year.
Inform affected people without delay in plain language; report to the Data Protection Board within 72 hours.
Verifiable parental consent for under-18s, with exemptions including healthcare.
Up to ₹250 crore (security failure); up to ₹200 crore (breach not reported, or children's data); up to ₹50 crore (other).
Talk to the Garbha.ai team about how your clinic handles records, consent and data.
Educational information, not legal advice. Last reviewed: .
Compliance Hub